best needle for small text? and performance material question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• best needle for small text? and performance material question

i am working on some performance material shirts (under armor type) and i was wondering if anyone has found a base setup such as, what type of backing, what size/type of needle, topping, etc? Any recommendations will help.

also, i have had many issues with small text in general on all styles of garments. i am using mostly the pre-digitized melco fonts in my designs but I run into a lot of issues with the bobbin showing through. does anyone know why this occurs with most small texts? Would using a ballpoint needle help?
    Michael Iarocci
    The Max Screen Printing & Embroidery
    759 Lakeshore Blvd.
    Painesville, OH 44077
    [email protected]
    Work: 440-357-0036
    Mobile: 440-862-3068

Mike,

I am new to the embroidery world and have been on a steep learning curve. Embroidery stitching is basically a tug-o-war between the top thread and the bobbin thread. The bobbin thread is suppose to win by 2/3rds. Hence the three color stripe results on the backing.

When you see the bobbin thread on top that means that the top needle pulled the bobbin thread through.

Small text is tricky because there is not much time/space between each top needle penetration stitches which needs to be countered by bobbin tension.

The remedy to control this problem may be found in a TOWA Bobbin Tension Gauge.

tm1-detail.jpg

With this gauge you can control the bobbin tension with precision. We can control the top thread via the amaya but the bobbin is just a guess.

Inobu
    Last edited by inobu; 08-22-2013, 07:07 PM.

Comment

I use #10 needles that are between a sharp and a ball point. I use these for everything and buy them by the 100/pkg. Small lettering comes out beautiful. For stabilizer, for you being new, I'd recommend an iron-on no-show. This will keep the material from shifting.