Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Vector > Digitizing not what I expected.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vector > Digitizing not what I expected.

Hi all, just got my hands on Design Shop Pro+. I should preface this by saying I have zero experience with digitizing -- I usually outsource my designs. I also understand that this wont fully replace digitizers. That being said, I've opened up some vectorized logos, converted them to embroidery, and it just looks very sloppy. Is there a guide/tutorial out there that goes in depth with this? Really looking forward to playing around with the software and my new Bravo machine, but all of this is kinda overwhelming!

A good place to start is to look at a well digitized design. Watch it stitch out. There are some youtube videos but I don't know how good they are. You can also take classes at some of the trade shows. There are some books out there but not design shop specific (Digitizing 101 by Thomas Moore, etc.).

Personally, I decided not to digitize except for the absolute simplist of designs (think box or grabbing bits from other designs). I think it takes quite a bit of time and stitchouts to learn and I've focused on selling. Good luck and have fun playing.
    Dorothy Compton, Owner<br />Bee Embroidered<br /><a href=\"http://www.BeeEmbroidered.com\" target=\"_blank\">www.BeeEmbroidered.com</a><br />(916) 635-7467

Comment

Vector files are often "what you see is NOT what you get". I get vector files from customers that are a mess but look just fine on the screen. I think that is because they learn to correct a shape by adding another shape to it - actually on top of it. So now the leaf that looks just fine on the screen, when you looks at it in wireframe (you only see lines, all the lines), you see many more objects than you thought were there.