Quantcast x motor tracking error on large frame

news

discussion boards mailing list tips / tricks / forms designs suppliers find a shop marketplace
News
  archives

Discussion
  main menu

Suppliers
  apparel
 
hats
 
thread
  backing
  hoops / hooping
  stock designs

Tips & Tricks
  main menu

Mailing List
  sign up now
 
my account

Amaya Shops
  locate a shop

Marketplace
  shop for supplies

Resources
  official Melco site
  online resources

 

Help Support This Site:


 


 

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like

    x motor tracking error on large frame

    Hello everyone, please forgive the book I am about to write but the more info you have the more help you can give. I have an Amaya XT, running OS 10 with Designshop V9

    I have digitized a large design that goes on the back of a dress shirt. It fills the 17.25in X 11.75 in frame within an inch all the way around. I have sewn this design out at least 7 times. No problem in the past. However, when I loaded any frame and began by tracing the design it would give a "hoop limit exceeded" error even though the design was much smaller than the frame being used and had plenty of room. I turned of the hoop limit indicator and traced the design to make sure it would fit. No problem.

    After successfully sewing the front patch using a fast frame 4x5 and the sleeve using the 4x11 fast frame I moved the arms out, loaded the 17X14 frame and went to sew the large back patch out. (I had also ran several other jobs using the 7 inch round Melco frame as well as a couple of hats using the WACF. All traced fine and sewed out fine.) So I hooped the shirt back, loaded the design, set the color sequence and hit trace. The hoop began to move then moved way past the hoop on the right and threw a "x motor tracking error". Having spent hours reading on the internet, I have used the red emergency button to stop the machine and reset it, didn't work, I have shut the machine off and left it off for several days then turning in the computer, opening OS 10, setting it to force download them turning on the machine and reloading the design. Same error.

    I have recently wiped the laptop clean, formatted the hard drive and reinstalled windows and then the Melco software and only the IS 10 and design shop. I eliminated all the other programs that were installed through the years. I'm stumped. It will trace and embroidery on the smaller hoops and fast frames but always moves ask the way to the right way past the hoop when I trace. It is like it is confused on where the center of the big hoop is.

    I bought the machine used in November 2017 and had it serviced in February after the needle case came off track. I have followed all the maintenance requirements and until now it has sewn like a champ
    Whew sorry for the book but I wanted you to have all the info
    Last edited by ChicksRide2; 05-19-2018 at 02:59 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Eureka, California
    Posts
    634
    Post Thanks / Like
    From what I remember about the sash frame, it doesn't give that much more sewing area. The physical hoop does, but the software does not. It gives SLIGHTLY more on the left and right -- maybe a half inch each side? -- but not much. If you are within an inch on the left and right, that may be causing the error.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Etna, CA
    Posts
    572
    Post Thanks / Like
    I'm not clear on your hoop size. Is 14x17 the size of your actual hoop; if so, I don't see one this size offered by Melco. It sounds as though something is digitized outside the approximate maximum of 16" in design width that these machines are capable of. If your design is actually 2" smaller than the 17" width of the frame, you should be OK. What shows on your screen when you load the design; is anything outside the hoop limits?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    sorry, the hoop is a Melco HOOP, TUBULAR, PLASTIC 44cm X 30cm(17.25in X 11.75 in) [Fits outside hoop arm position] 3010204-01

    When I load the design it fits nicely inside the dotted lines. I even reduced the design in design shop and reloaded. it has at least an inch margin inside the dotted lines and it still traces way too far to the right with the head going past the frame. it is like the hoop is not centering at 0,0 but rather around 4, 0.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Judy, I am not using the sash frame. my original size posted was wrong. I am using .HOOP, TUBULAR, PLASTIC 44cm X 30cm(17.25in X 11.75 in) [Fits outside hoop arm position]
    010204-01

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Urbana, Maryland
    Posts
    248
    Post Thanks / Like
    Problems centering used to happen to one of our machines. Almost always was the optical sensor on the underside of the carriage arm not reading correctly. This is in a big red. Clean the sensor. Clean the bar the sensor reads. E-stop and push the carriage all the way back, all the way right. Turn off estop. Try to center hoop.

    May not fix your issue but thought i would share in case it did.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    thanks I try it when i get home. my machine is not a big red, it has the smoked covers on the side. what is so weird is that it works on the smaller hoops, just not the big one which is of course the money maker lol

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    JOhn, I sure hope you are available. I didn't get to try it yesterday but I am at my machine now. I have used the red stop button, pushed the carriage all the way to the back and the right. Now what am I looking for?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    ok, I think I found it. Is it under the bottom of X-beam? a very small black box. I used compressed air then cleaned it gently with a lint free cloth. then I used compressed air for the bar on the back of the needle case. I pushed the case back and to the right. Then I turned it back on and used the hoop center on the keypad. it appears to have centered. So I try to trace, same thing

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Urbana, Maryland
    Posts
    248
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by ChicksRide2 View Post
    ok, I think I found it. Is it under the bottom of X-beam? a very small black box. I used compressed air then cleaned it gently with a lint free cloth. then I used compressed air for the bar on the back of the needle case. I pushed the case back and to the right. Then I turned it back on and used the hoop center on the keypad. it appears to have centered. So I try to trace, same thing
    So, it centers but then you load the design and trace and the same thing happens?

    Yes, you found the correct sensor. That reads the white paint on the top of the part of the carriage that holds and screws in the hoop arms.
    John Yaglenski
    Amayausers.com - Webmaster
    Levelbest Embroidery - Owner
    Living the life on Hilton Head Island, SC and serving the world via our website!
    http://www.levelbestembroidery.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  a Levelbest Network Site - 2013

This site is not owned by or affiliated with Melco or any companies or subsidiaries.