Grabber Timeout Error HELP!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grabber Timeout Error HELP!

Hi, I'm new to the amaya users forum so hopefully I'm possting in the correct place! Has anyone else had problems with a grabber timeout error on their amaya xt. Needles 1-5 and 14-16 work perfectly, but if it goes to trim on 6-13 it make a horrible grinding sound and I get the grabber timeout message. I've taken the covers off and can't find any obstructions and can move the grabber freely by hand. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thank You

It sounds as if the Grabber blade is not going into the Grabber Trap . The Grabber blade should slide into the trap between the two Velcro layers easily . If it does not, the grabber WILL make a loud chattering noise and sometimes give you the timeout error. The grabber blade not only needs to move freely, but also must penetrate the Velcro layers easily.

The grabber trap may need to be bent forward or backward slightly to re-align the blade and grabber.

This, of course, is assuming that the stepper motor that drives the grabber blade is working properly, that there are not other obstructions that would prevent free movement of the blade and that the trimmeris cutting the thread during a trim. If the thread is not cut and the blade stretches it tight up into the grabber trap, sometims this will result in the noise and timeout error.

Rod Springer
    Amaya Tech & Trainer
    Certified tech & trainer<br />208-898-4117

Comment

Thanks for the quick reply! The blade slides easily between the Velcro layers in the trap. The grinding starts as soon as the blade starts to move towards the trap on needles 6-13. I'm thinking it may be the stepper motor. Is it a big deal to replace? Would my other needles (1-5&14-16) be working fine as they are if the stepper motor was malfunctioning?

Comment